DevOps Agile Skills Association (DASA) Training PartnerEquinox IT is a DevOps Agile Skills Association (DASA) Forerunner Member and a Training Partner. We provide the DASA DevOps Fundamentals Certification course in New Zealand. We support DASA's introduction of a standard Competence Model for DevOps capability and their focus on growing professional skills against this model with their DevOps Certification Programme.

This page provides more information on DASA, their DevOps Competence Model and their DevOps Certification Programme to help you understand more about how this might apply to you or your team here in New Zealand.

About the DevOps Agile Skills Association (DASA)

The DevOps Agile Skills Association (DASA) is an independent and open, members driven association supporting the development of DevOps training and DevOps certification to the global market. Advocating the development of High-Performance IT Professionals and Teams through agile DevOps initiatives.

Find out more about DASA

DASA DevOps Competence Model

The DASA DevOps Competence Model describes the skills and knowledge needed in a DevOps team.

DevOps Agile Skills Association (DASA) Competence Model

Four skill areas of the model:

  • Courage
  • Teambuilding
  • DevOps Leadership
  • Continuous improvement

Eight knowledge areas of the model:

  • Business Value Optimisation
  • Business Analysis
  • Architecture & Design
  • Programming
  • Continuous Delivery
  • Test Specification
  • Infrastructure Engineering
  • Security, Risk & Compliance

Every member of DevOps teams needs to have a foundation level knowledge of DevOps principles and practices, and be able to operate at level 2 competence on all four skill areas and all eight knowledge areas of the model. The DASA DevOps Fundamentals Certification course is designed to provide this foundation level 2 competence.

DevOps encourages team members to be less specialised and more multi-skilled. As such, DASA indentifies three broad areas of expertise 'Enable and Scale', 'Create and Deliver' and 'Specify and Verify'. Team members need to build further competence in the skills and knowledge areas associated with their area of expertise, as shown in the model above on the red and lighter blue loops.

Find out more about the DASA DevOps Competence Model

DASA DevOps Certification Programme

DASA have developed a DevOps Certification Programme so that individuals and teams can build their capability against DevOps Competence Model.

DevOps Agile Skills Association (DASA) Certification Scheme

Foundational Level - Know

The first level of the DevOps Certification Programme focuses on establishing an understanding of DevOps, to build capability to level 2 of the DevOps Competence Model across all four skill areas and all eight knowledge areas. The DASA DevOps Fundamentals Certification provides this competence. This is a starting point and pre-requisite for the subsequent levels.

Professional Level - Apply

At the professional there level are three certifications which correspond with DASA's areas of expertise:  'Enable and Scale', 'Specify and Verify' and 'Create and Deliver'. These certifications focus on helping professionals to use the specific tools to apply DevOps.

Leadership Level - Lead and Enable

At the leadership level there are three leadership certifications for Product Owners, DevOps Leaders and DevOps Coaches. These certifications focus on helping participants to lead and enable DevOps within their teams and organisations. 

Find out more about the DASA DevOps Certification Programme